Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: 12th Biennial Collective Intentionality Conference

Event date July 13, 2020 - July 16, 2020
Submission deadline February 20, 2020
Location Switzerland
Host(s) University of Neuchâtel
Event website/information

Social Ontology, The 12th Biennial Collective Intentionality Conference

July 13-16, 2020, University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland

In July 2020, University of Neuchâtel will host the biennial Collective Intentionality Conference. This major conference will bring together leading philosophers and other theorists across fields studying the nature and varieties of social phenomena, as well as their affective, cognitive and agential foundations.

Topics include, but are not limited to
Collective Intentionality and Social Cognition
Group Action
Shared Emotions
Psychopathological Disturbances of Social Behaviour
Approaches to the Metaphysics of the Social World
The Nature of Institutions, Firms, and Organizations
The Nature of Law and Legal Applications of Social Ontology
The Ontology of Economics
Collective and Distributed Responsibility

Keynote speakers
Malinda Carpenter, St. Andrews
Jonathan Schaffer, Rutgers
Amie Thomasson, Dartmouth College
Achille Varzi, New York
Dan Zahavi, Copenhagen/Oxford

Organising Committee
Olivier Massin (Neuchâtel, Chair), Alessandro Salice (Cork, Chair), Antoine Taillard (Neuchâtel), Judith Würgler (Neuchâtel)

Abstracts of 300-500 words (prepared for blind review) should be submitted to the conference EasyChair website:

Interdisciplinary contributions are strongly encouraged.

Deadline for submissions: February 20th, 2020

Notification of acceptance: May 5th, 2020

Fees: TBA

The Collective Intentionality Conferences are a biennial series sponsored by the International Social Ontology Society. The previous eleven events in this series have been held at Tufts University in Boston/MA, USA (2018), Delft University of Technology in Den Haag, Netherlands (2016), Indiana University Bloomington (2014), and the Universities of Manchester (2012), Basel (2010), Berkeley (2008), Helsinki (2006), Siena (2004), Rotterdam (2002), Leipzig (2000) and Munich (1999).

More information on the conference can be found at:

Bookmark the permalink.