Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: 2nd Perspectives on Scientific Error Workshop (PSE 2)

Event date October 29, 2018 - October 30, 2018
Submission deadline August 17, 2018
Location The Netherlands
Host(s) Faculty of Philosophy, University of Groningen
Event website/information
2nd Perspectives on Scientific Error Workshop (PSE 2)
Faculty of Philosophy
University of Groningen
The Netherlands
29-30 October 2018
Invited Speakers:
Anna Dreber, Stockholm School of Economics
Richard Morey, University of Cardiff
Jacob Stegenga, University of Cambridge
Following the success of the first workshop, the second Perspectives on Scientific Error workshop will bring together an interdisciplinary group of researchers interested in issues of scientific error. Participants will share their views on how scientific errors can be detected and corrected, how they influence scientific communities, and the perception of science as a whole.
The topics of the workshop include, but are not limited to:
*    replicability of research findings
*    statistical and social reforms to address error (e.g., Bayesian vs frequentist statistics, publication practices, incentive structures)
*    evidence aggregation, meta-analysis, and evidence hierarchies
*    error propagation and error correction
*    values in science, and their impact on scientific error
*    trust in science, science denial, etc.
Please submit an extended abstract (max 1000 words) and a short abstract (max 100 words) suitable for blind review until August 17th 2018 via the EasyChair review system (link on the workshop’s website). We welcome submissions for both presentations and posters.
Workshop participants will also have the opportunity to attend tutorial sessions before the workshop:
1. An Introduction to the Philosophy of Statistics (by Jan Sprenger)
2. An Introduction to (Mis)applied Statistics (by Daniël Lakens)
Dates and Deadlines:
17 August: Submission Deadline
30 August: Notification of Acceptance
29-30 October: Workshop
Noah van Dongen (University of Turin)
Daniël Lakens (Eindhoven University of Technology)
Jan-Willem Romeijn (University of Groningen)
Felipe Romero (University of Groningen)
Jan Sprenger (University of Turin)
Please contact us at if you have further questions.
Bookmark the permalink.