Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: Conference: Models of Explanation

Event date June 11, 2018 - June 13, 2018
Submission deadline March 01, 2018
Location University of Turin, Italy
Host(s) Center for Logic, Language and Cognition (LLC)
Event website/information

11th Munich-Sydney-Tilburg/Turin (MuST) Conference


Center for Logic, Language and Cognition (LLC)
University of Turin, Italy
11 – 13 June 2018


*********************KEYNOTE SPEAKERS:
Peter Brössel, University of Bochum
Lina Jansson, University of Nottingham
Tania Lombrozo, University of California at Berkeley
Michael Strevens, New York University

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 1 March 2018. We ask for extended abstracts of up to 1000 words. Notifications will be sent out by 20 March.

We invite submissions suitable for a 45′ presentation, including 15′ discussion time. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to

—models of explanation and explanatory power;
—causal vs. non-causal explanations in science;
—explanation in the special sciences (e.g., physics, mathematics, biology, social and economic sciences, humanities);
—explanation, IBE and scientific realism;
—explanation and scientific understanding;
—explanation vs. prediction and confirmation;
—empirical investigations of explanatory reasoning;
—the historical development of theories of scientific explanation;
—the role of explanation in scientific reasoning.

Attending the conference can be combined with a workshop on explanatory power in (sort of) nearby Geneva on June 14-15. For more details about the CfP, visit

GRADUATE STUDENT FUNDING: Limited travel funding is available for graduate students who present a paper.

Mark Colyvan (Sydney)
Vincenzo Crupi (Turin)
Paul Griffiths (Sydney)
Stephan Hartmann (Munich)
Jan Sprenger (Turin)

Fabrizio Calzavarini, Turin
Lorenzo Casini, Geneva
Matteo Colombo, Tilburg
Mauro Dorato, Roma Tre
Igor Douven, Paris Sorbonne
Alexander Gebharter, Düsseldorf
Raoul Gervais, Antwerp
Catherine Herfeld, Zurich
Philippe Huneman, IHPST Paris
Jaakko Kuorikoski, Tampere
Marc Lange, Chapel Hill
Chiara Lisciandra, Groningen
Federico Laudisa, Milano Bicocca
Uskali Mäki, Helsinki
Barbara Osimani, Ancona
Stathis Psillos, Athens
Alexander Reutlinger, Munich
Felipe Romero, Turin
Juha Saatsi, Leeds
Jonah Schupbach, Utah
Katie Steele, Australian National University
J.D. Trout, Illinois Institute of Technology
Naftali Weinberger, Tilburg

Bookmark the permalink.