Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: Fourth International Conference of the German Society for Philosophy of Science

Event date March 21, 2022 - March 23, 2022
Submission deadline June 30, 2021
Location Berlin, Germany
Host(s) Technische Universität Berlin
Event website/information


Fourth International Conference of the German Society for Philosophy of Science

Call for Papers – Call for Symposia

Technische Universität Berlin

Berlin, Germany

March 21-23, 2022


Submission Deadline: June 30, 2021.

Acceptance Notification: November 2021.


Plenary lectures will be given by:

Anjan Chakravartty (Miami)

Mazviita Chirimuuta (Edinburgh)

Brigitte Falkenburg (Dortmund/Berlin)

Branden Fitelson (Northeastern/Boston)

Hans Rott (Regensburg)

Jutta Schickore (IU Bloomington)

The German Society for Philosophy of Science (Gesellschaft für Wissenschaftsphilosophie – GWP) was founded in September 2011 with the aim to better integrate the community of philosophers of science and scientists interested in the philosophy of science in Germany and thereby to promote the field at a local and international level. The GWP organizes an international conference every three years. Our fourth conference will be hosted by the TU Berlin in March 2022.


We invite contributed papers across all fields of philosophy of science. Contributed papers will be clustered into parallel sessions focusing on particular themes or special sciences.


We welcome proposals for individual papers (30 min plus 10 min discussion) or symposia (3 speakers in a combined 2-hour session). Graduate students are especially encouraged to submit proposals for either individual papers or symposia. All proposals must be submitted electronically through the EasyChair system (for more information see below). Please note that first-time users need to register as users of EasyChair.


Proposals for individual papers: Please submit your proposal for an individual paper either as an “extended abstract” (by filling in the corresponding EasyChair form) or by uploading a separate PDF (especially if it contains formal symbols), but not both. Proposals for papers should include the title and abstract (up to 500 words). Please ensure that your abstract does not contain information that reveals your identity to the reviewers. Enter the author information into the “Author Information” box; this information will not be accessible to the reviewers. All submissions will be subjected to a blind refereeing procedure.


Symposium proposals: Submit your proposal for a symposium by uploading a separate PDF. Symposia proposals should include the symposium title, a description of the symposium’s rationale (up to 500 words) and for each of the 3 speakers the title and abstract (up to 500 words each). Please prepare your symposium proposal for blind review. Enter the author information into the “Author Information” box for all three speakers of the symposium (and for the organizer if (s)he is different from the speakers); this information will not be accessible to the reviewers. The organizer of the symposium should be the corresponding author (check the box).


No one will be permitted to present more than once at GWP.2022. Nevertheless, authors can simultaneously make one submission (as corresponding author) for each of the two above types (contributed paper, symposium). If a symposium proposal in which you are a presenting author is accepted, a contributed paper for which you are the presenting author will be turned down. One may appear as co-author more than once, but may present at GWP.2022 only once. The recommended conference language is English, but contributions in German will also be considered. If you are a graduate student, please indicate this by adding “(graduate student)” in the field “organization” of “Author information” after the name of your organization.


For submission via EasyChair see:

The deadline for all submissions is: June 30, 2021.

Expected notification of acceptance by the beginning of November 2021.

Local organizers: Axel Gelfert (chair), Birgit Beck, Beate Krickel

GWP organizers: Gerhard Schurz (president), Uljana Feest, Christian J. Feldbacher-Escamilla, Alexander Gebharter, Vera Hoffmann-Kolss, Thomas Reydon

Bookmark the permalink.