Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: The 8th Congress of the Society for the Philosophy of Science

Event date September 08, 2021 - September 10, 2021
Submission deadline April 30, 2021
Location Belgium
Host(s) University of Mons
Event website/information

The 8th Congress of the Society for the Philosophy of Science

September 8-10 2021

University of Mons (Belgium)



Dear friends & colleagues,

It is our pleasure to recall you that the next meeting of the Société de philosophie des sciences (SPS : take place on September 8 – 10 2021 at the University of Mons (Belgium).

Organising committeeAntoine Brandelet (University of Mons), Anne Staquet (University of Mons), Jérémy Attard (University of Mons), Alice Van Helden (University of Namur), Bertrand Hespel (University of Namur), Dominique Lambert (University of Namur).


The main theme of the 2021 congress will be: “Sciences and scientificity”

More information can be found on the website.
Please find below  some inspiring key words:

–       Science and pseudoscience

–       Challenges imposed by the evolution of scientific practices (e.g. open data, participatory science, publication of negative results)

–       Production of ignorance (scientific expertise, fake news, merchants of doubt, etc.)

–       Scientific values, scientific integrity and evaluation of science

–       Scientific culture (“public understanding of science”)



NOTA BENE: any proposal for a contribution on any topic in the field of philosophy of science will be considered.

The meeting is composed of:

(1) Invited speakers: Marion Vorms (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), Jean-Pierre Cléro (Centre Bentham Paris & Université de Rouen), Stephan Lewandowsky (University of Bristol), Guillaume Lecointre (Muséum national d’histoire naturelle), Alan Sokal (New York University & University College London), Brigitte Axelrad (Université de Grenoble, vice-présidente de l’AFIS).

(2) Symposia (In English or French) of 3-4 interventions on one specific theme; the total length of a symposium is 1:30-2:00 depending on the number of included interventions. Symposia are highly recommended, notably if they include both scientific and philosophical interventions.

(3) Individual papers (In English or French), suitable for a 30-minute presentation (discussion included),


Paper submission

Deadline for submission : April 30th 2021

Submission via the website

Individual paper:

  • In French or in English
  • Suitable for a 30-minute presentation (discussion included)
  • About the theme of the meeting or any other topic in philosophy of science

Symposium (3 people):

  • In French or in English
  • Suitable for a 90- or 120-minute symposium, depending on how many interventions are included
  • About the theme of the meeting or any other topic in the philosophy of science


Submission format:

Short abstract + extended abstract joined in .pdf or .doc

For a symposium:

  • Title of the symposium
  • Short abstract (max. 250 words) describing the general topic
  • Extended anonymous abstract in a separated file (.pdf or .doc, max. 2500 words) describing the symposium in general and each presentation (max. 4 participants)

Individual paper:

  • Title of the presentation
  • Short abstract (max. 250 words)
  • Extended abstract in a separated file (.pdf or .doc, max. 1000 words)
  • Extended abstracts must be ready for anonymous review, any name or affiliation should not be mentioned.


Notification of acceptance: May 31st  2021

Inscriptions from May 31st  2021 to 15th August 2021

For any inquiries, please contact Antoine Brandelet (


Scientific Committee 

— Vincent Ardourel, IHPST, CNRS & Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (France)

— Baptiste Bedessem, Università Ca’Foscari (Venise, Italie) (to be confirmed)

— Alban Bouvier, Université Aix-Marseille (France)

— Antoine Brandelet, Université de Mons (Belgique)

— Damien Darcis, Université de Mons

— Jean Dhombres, Centre Alexandre Koyré (France)

— Richard-Emmanuel Eastes, HES-SO (Haute Ecole spécialisée de Suisse Occidentale)

— Michael Esfeld, Université de Lausanne (Suisse)

— Yves Gingras, UQAM (Montréal, Canada)

— Bertrand Hespel, Université de Namur (Belgique)

— Sven Ove Hansson, Institut Royal de Technologie (Stockholm, Suède) (to be confirmed)

— Cyrille Imbert, Archives Henri Poincaré (France)

— Dominique Lambert, Université de Namur (Belgique)

— Francesca Merlin, IHPST, CNRS & Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (France)

— François Pépin, IHRIM Ens de Lyon (France)

— Stéphanie Ruphy, Paris à l’Ecole normale supérieure – Université PSL (France)

— Christian Sachse, Université de Lausanne (Suisse)

— Olivier Sartenaer

— Anne Staquet, Université de Mons (Belgique)

— David Teira, Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia (Espagne)

— Alice van Helden, Université de Namur (Belgique)

— Brigitte van Tieggelen, Science History Institute (Philadelphie, USA)

— Karim Zouaoui, Université de Mons (Belgique) et ULB (Belgique)

Bookmark the permalink.