Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: Workshop: Inconsistency and Scientific Pluralism

Event date November 08, 2017
Submission deadline October 20, 2017
Location Centre for Logic and Philosophy of Science
Host(s) Ghent University
Event website/information
===CfA: Workshop “Inconsistency and Scientific Pluralism”===
When: November 8, 2017
Where: Ghent University, Centre for Logic and Philosophy of Science
Deadline for submitting abstracts: October 20, 2017

This workshop is devoted to connections between inconsistency toleration and scientific pluralism. Some views on the topic have recently been analyzed in the HumanaMente Special Issue Beyond Toleration? Inconsistency and Pluralism in the Empirical Sciences (available at: Different forms of pluralism discussed in the issue include evidential pluralism (Parkkinen, Russo, Wallmann), methodological pluralism (Friend, Llored), and logical pluralism (Batens).


We welcome submissions addressing the following and related questions:


(i) What are the relevant connections between scientific pluralism and inconsistency toleration?

(ii) Do specific types of scientific pluralism entail specific types of inconsistency toleration commitments? Do particular inconsistency toleration commitments entail particular kinds of scientific pluralism?

(iii) In which ways is it possible to characterize and understand inconsistency toleration from a pluralist perspective?

(iv) Do the same inconsistency toleration mechanisms underlie all cases of inconsistency toleration in specific sciences?

(v) Do all scientific disagreements involve or entail actual contradictions in scientific practice?

===Abstract submission===
Abstracts of 200-500 words should be sent to with the subject line: “Submission for ISP” no later than October 20, 2017.
Notifications of acceptance will be sent by October 23, 2017.
Registration fee (which includes the workshop dinner): 25 EUR (to be paid upon arrival).
The workshop precedes another workshop: “Logic in the Wild”, November 9-10, 2017:
Organizing committee: Diderik Batens, Joke Meheus, María del Rosario Martínez Ordaz, Federica Russo, Dunja Šešelja, Erik Weber.
Bookmark the permalink.