Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: 15th Congress of Logic, Methodology, and Philosophy of Science

Event date August 03, 2015 - August 08, 2015
Submission deadline November 30, 2014
Location University of Helsinki
Host(s) The Philosophical Society of Finland, the Academy of Finland Centre of Excellence in the Philosophy the Social Sciences (TINT) and the Division of Theoretical Philosophy
Event website/information

Call for Papers


University of Helsinki, Finland, 3-8 August 2015

Submission deadline: 30 November 2014

The Congress of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science (CLMPS) is organized every four years by the Division of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science (DLMPS). The Philosophical Society of Finland, the Academy of Finland Centre of Excellence in the Philosophy the Social Sciences (TINT) and the Division of Theoretical Philosophy (Department of Philosophy, History, Culture and Art Studies) are proud to host the 15th Congress of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science (CLMPS 2015).
CLMPS 2015 is co-located with the European Summer Meeting of the Association for Symbolic Logic, Logic Colloquium 2015 (the abstract submission for Logic Colloquium 2015 opens in early 2015).

CLMPS 2015 will host six plenary lectures and 40 invited lectures (

CLMPS 2015 Plenary Lectures

Rachel Ankeny
Steve Awodey
Patricia Blanchette
Harold Kincaid
Eleanor Knox
Johan van Benthem

CLMPS 2015 Invited Lectures (corrected 9 Nov 2014)

Anna Alexandrova
Sergei Artemov
Ana Barahona
Verónica Becher
Giovanni Boniolo
Mieke Boon
Cameron Buckner
Hasok Chang
Mark Colyvan
Eleonora Cresto
William Demopoulos
Zoe Drayson
Solomon Feferman
Maria Carla Galavotti
Paul Griffiths
Sven Ove Hansson
Stephan Hartmann
Jenann Ismael
Dov Jaron
Juliette Kennedy
Rebecca Kukla
Barry Loewer
Edwin Mares
Michela Massimi
Gordon McBean
Kerry McKenzie
Uskali Mäki
Jennifer Nagel
Dean Rickles
Gillian Russell
Teddy Seidenfeld
Orly Shenker
Paul Thom
Moshe Y. Vardi
Michael Weisberg
Philip Welch
Charlotte Werndl
Alison Wylie
Sang Wook Yi
Kevin Zollman

CLMPS 2015 calls for contributed papers, contributed symposia, and affiliated meetings in 17 thematic sections:

A. Logic
A1. Mathematical Logic
A2. Philosophical Logic
A3. Computational Logic and Applications of Logic
A4. Historical Aspects of Logic

B. General Philosophy of Science
B1. Methodology
B2. Formal Philosophy of Science and Formal Epistemology
B3. Metaphysical Issues in the Philosophy of Science
B4. Ethical and Political Issues in the Philosophy of Science
B5. Historical Aspects in the Philosophy of Science

C. Philosophical Issues of Particular Disciplines
C1. Philosophy of the Formal Sciences (incl. Logic, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science)
C2. Philosophy of the Physical Sciences (incl. Physics, Chemistry, Earth Science, Climate Science)
C3. Philosophy of the Life Sciences
C4. Philosophy of the Cognitive and Behavioural Sciences
C5. Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences
C6. Philosophy of the Applied Sciences and Technology
C7. Philosophy of Medicine
C8. Metaphilosophy

In addition, some submitted abstracts will be invited to the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science (IUHPS) Joint Commission Symposium Sessions if the programme committee considers the abstracts well suited for IUHPS themes.

Contributed papers: Please submit an abstract of 300 words prepared for anonymous review. Accepted contributed papers will be allocated in total 30 minutes (20 min for the presentation + 10 min for the discussion).

Contributed symposia: Please submit an abstract of max. 1700 words prepared for anonymous review.

The abstract should include:

a. a general description of the format and the topic of the proposed symposium and its significance (up to 500 words)
b. a 300-word abstract of each paper (3-4 papers)

Each accepted contributed symposia will be allocated a full two-hour session.

Affiliated Meetings: Affiliated meetings are half-day to full day symposia that run parallel to the CLMPS 2015 programme, and belong to the congress programme. Please consult the CLMPS 2015 submission guidelines for further information ( .

Rules for multiple presentations
+     Maximally one contributed individual paper
+     One is allowed to present a second paper of which one is a co-author, but then the main author of this paper must submit the paper and be registered as a participant.
+     If one participates in a contributed symposia proposal, affiliated meeting proposal or is an invited speaker, one is not allowed to submit an individual contributed paper in which one is the main author (it is possible to be a co-author of a contributed paper, but then the main author of this paper must submit the paper and be registered as a participant).

Abstracts should be submitted by using the CLMPS 2015 registration form:
Authors are kindly asked to consult the detailed submission guidelines before submitting:

All questions about submissions should be directed to the congress sectary, Ms. Päivi Seppälä
( The members of the programme committee, DLMPS committees and the local organising committee are listed here

Hannes Leitgeb (Chair of the Programme Committee)
Ilkka Niiniluoto (Chair of the Local Organizing Committee)

Important dates

30 November, 2014
Deadline for abstract submissions

15 January, 2015
Congress registration opens

30 January, 2015
Notifications of acceptance

March 2015
Preliminary programme announced

31 May, 2015
Deadline for early registrations

13 July, 2015
No more refunds for registration cancellations

3-8 August, 2015
CLMPS 2015, University of Helsinki

Bookmark the permalink.