Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: Conference: Explanation, Normativity, and Uncertainty in Economic Modelling

Event date March 16, 2016 - March 17, 2016
Submission deadline January 04, 2016
Location London School of Economics and Political Science, UK
Host(s) Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method
Event website/information


Explanation, Normativity, and Uncertainty in Economic Modelling

Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

London School of Economics and Political Science

16 – 17 March, 2016

Conference Description

An interdisciplinary conference on the potentials and limitations of economic modelling in relation to the following three questions:

  • Do economic models explain real-life socio-economic phenomena despite their idealized assumptions?
  • Are results derived with the help of decision theoretic and game theoretic models descriptive or normative in nature? Can they be both?
  • Do state of the art economic models capture the uncertainties we face in economic decision and policy making?

Submissions are invited from graduate students and early career researchers (up to two years since the award of their PhD) on any of the above three questions.
Confirmed Speakers
Anna Alexandrova (University of Cambridge)  Richard Bradley (London School of Economics) ▪ Wouter den Haan (London School of Economics) ▪ Kevin Hoover (Duke University) ▪ Caterina Marchionni (University of Helsinki) ▪ Robert Northcott (Birkbeck) ▪ Robert Sugden (University of East Anglia) ▪ Philipp Wichardt(University of Rostock)

Important Dates
Submissions deadline: 4 January, 2016Notification of Acceptance: 1 February, 2016Conference: 16-17 March, 2016
Submission Information

Authors are asked to submit a short abstract of up to 150 words along with an extended abstract of up to 1,000 words, prepared for a blind review, through our EasyChair conference page here:
Authors of accepted papers will have 20 minutes to present their work followed by 10 minutes for discussion.
Programme Committee
Jason Alexander ▪ Anna Alexandrova ▪ Philippe van Basshuysen ▪ Richard Bradley ▪ Kamilla Haworth Buchter ▪ Goreti Faria ▪ Roman Frigg ▪ Conrad Heilmann ▪ Jurgis Karpus ▪ Alex Marcoci ▪ Caterina Marchionni ▪ James Nguyen ▪ Mantas Radzvilas ▪ H. Orri Stefánsson ▪ Aron Valinder ▪ Alex Vorhooeve ▪ Philipp Wichardt ▪ Nicolas Wüthrich

Travel Grants

Travel grants of up to GBP 100 will be available to authors of accepted papers unable to secure full travel funding from their home institution.


Please send us an e-mail if you have any questions here:

LSE Annual FundCentre for Philosophy of Natural and Social ScienceThe British Society for the Philosophy of ScienceCentre for Macroeconomics
Bookmark the permalink.