Philosophy of Social Science Events

Upcoming Events | Past Events

Event: Nordic Network for Philosophy of Science: Fourth Annual Meeting

Event date April 21, 2016 - April 23, 2016
Submission deadline January 25, 2016
Location Pärnu, Estonia
Host(s) University of Tartu
Event website/information - see here for full details about submission

CFP: Nordic Network for Philosophy of Science: Fourth Annual Meeting

University of Tartu

April 21-23, Pärnu, Estonia


The Department of Philosophy at the University of Tartu is proud to host the 4th meeting of Nordic Network for Philosophy of Science. We welcome papers on all areas of philosophy of science, including:

·         General  philosophy of science (methodological, epistemological and metaphysical issues in sciences)

·         Philosophy of special disciplines and metaphilosophy (philosophy of the natural sciences, life sciences, formal sciences, cognitive and behavioural sciences, humanities and the social sciences, technology and the applied sciences etc.)

·         Logic and formal approaches to philosophy of science

·         Ethical, socio-political, historical and cultural issues in science.


All the selected papers will have a commentator, format 20+5+15 minutes (talk, comment, discussion). Participants will have the possibility to participate in a follow-up event on April 24 – excursion to Estonian primeval nature. Previous meeting of the NNPS were held in Uppsala (2013), Lund (2014) and Helsinki (2015).


Keynote speakers:

Hanne Andersen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

John Dupré (University of Exeter, UK)

Mikael M. Karlsson (University of Iceland)


Programme committee:

Lise Marie Andersen (Aarhus University)

Rani Lill Anjum (Norwegian University of Life Sciences)

Daniel Cohnitz (University of Tartu)

Finnur Dellsén (University of Iceland)

Søren Harnow Klausen (University of Southern Denmark)

Lars-Göran Johansson (Uppsala University)

Ólafur Páll Jónsson (University of Iceland)

Carlo Martini (TINT, University of Helsinki)

Peeter Müürsepp (Tallinn University of Technology)

Michiru Nagatsu (TINT, University of Helsinki)

Ahti-Veikko Pietarinen (University of Helsinki, Tallinn University of Technology)

Petri Ylikoski (University of Helsinki, Linköping University)

Frank Zenker (Lund University)


Important dates:

January 25, 2016: Deadline for abstract submission

March 1, 2016: Accepted papers will be notified

March 28, 2016: Deadline for full paper submission

April 21-23, 2016: Dates of the NNPS 2016 meeting



Abstract submission:

Please prepare abstracts of maximally 750 words for anonymous review. Submissions must be sent through EasyCair:


Organizers: Endla Lõhkivi, Ave Mets, Edit Talpsepp (University of Tartu)

Local organizing committee: Kristin Kokkov, Triin Paaver, Mats Volberg


Further information and queries:
Endla Lõhkivi
Ave Mets
Edit Talpsepp

University of Tartu, Department of Philosophy

Bookmark the permalink.